Sen. Mee Moua Surprise Retirement Announcement

Print More

Minnesota Senator Mee Moua surprises her colleagues as she announces she will not seek another term in the Senate.

News Release from Senator Mee Moua followed by a list of Senators retiring at the end of this session:

My life has afforded me the opportunity to see the best of what Minnesota has to offer. Serving in the Minnesota Senate has given me the opportunity to have experiences and break down barriers that I never could have imagined.


Over the last nine years I have been blessed to be surrounded by an extraordinary group of staff, supporters and colleagues – all of whom gave me the strength and inspiration to keep fighting for Minnesota’s future.


I will always treasure their partnership and I am forever grateful to my supporters for allowing me to stand on their shoulders as I have realized the greatest honor of my life – serving the people of Saint Paul’s East Side and the state of Minnesota.


Above all – I am humbled by the sacrifices my family has made in support of my commitment to public service, sacrifices that were amplified by the recent loss of my mother-in-law. Their love, support, and sacrifices made these ten years possible.


I want the next decade to be about my family and my children’s future. The time has come to start a new chapter in my life – one that puts my family first. It is with this new focus that I am announcing that I will not seek reelection to the Senate.

Senators Retiring At End Of Session

Sen. Tarryl Clark, DFL-St. Cloud, Assistant Majority Leader
Sen. Steve Dille, R-Dassel, Ranking minority member of the Agriculture and Veterans Committee
Sen. Dennis Frederickson, R-New Ulm, Senate President Pro Tem
Sen. Debbie Johnson, R-Ham Lake
Sen. Mee Moua, DFL-St. Paul, Judiciary Chair
Sen. Steve Murphy, DFL-Red Wing, Transportation Committee Chair
Sen. Pat Pariseau, R-Farmington, Ranking minority member of the Environment and Natural Resources Committee
Sen. Jim Vickerman, DFL-Tracy, Agriculture and Veterans Committee Chair

Comments are closed.