Two Republicans Face Off For U Of MN Regent Seat

Print More

Rep. Laura Brod

Former House Speaker Steve Sviggum (28B)

Former House Speaker Steve Sviggum

Representative Laura Brod is one of 18 finalists for four University of Minnesota Regent seats.  Also up for the same job, a fellow Republican, Former Speaker of the House Steve Sviggum who is currently Governor Tim Pawlenty’s Budget Manager. It’s not a cinch that either of them will get the job since there are four other candidates for the same job.

Here’s the press release from the U of M:

Eighteen candidates for four vacancies on the University of Minnesota Board of Regents were selected to be interviewed by the Regent Candidate Advisory Council (RCAC) at their meeting on December 10, 2010. The RCAC announced the vacancies in September and received a total of 46 applications.

Four of the twelve seats on Board of Regents are open for appointment every two years, each representing a six-year term. In the current biennium, the four seats to be filled are one at-large, and one each in the second, third, and eighth congressional districts.

Read the entire list of candidates

The RCAC is a 24-member advisory council established by the Minnesota State Legislature to recruit, screen, and recommend regent candidates for election by the Legislature. The interviews in this round will be held January 10-12, 2011, and are open to the public. The RCAC must recommend to a Joint Legislative Committee between two and four individuals for each open position on the Board. The Joint Committee selects one candidate for each open position, and submits this slate of candidates for consideration by the full Legislature sitting in Joint Convention. Under our Minnesota Constitution, the Joint Convention elects Regents to the Board.

Following are the names of the candidates to be interviewed by the RCAC for each open regent seat:

At-Large: Allen Anderson, Gordon Bailey, Steven Hunter, and Robert Kennedy

Second District: Laura Brod, Thomas Devine, Kelly Smith, Steven Sviggum, Robert Vogel,
and Leon Westbrock

Third District: David Larson, Norman Rickerman, and Roby Thompson, Jr.

Eighth District: William Burns, George Goldfarb, Scott Lyons, David McMillian, and Robert Ostlund

Michael McIntee

Michael McIntee is a former network TV news executive with more than 30 years of broadcasting experience. He began his broadcasting career at the University of Minnesota's student radio station. He is an expert producer, writer, video editor who has a fondness for new technology but denies that he is a geek. More about Michael McIntee »

Comments are closed.